9 Awful Reasons You’re Not Working Out

istock-tired-woman1

No one is innocent of becoming the excuse monster when it’s time for working out. Suddenly, our minds turn into an elaborate thought processors for wonderful, creative reasons why we shouldn’t go to the gym. They’re all real. And so is the couch… with all of its soft pillows and movie options. You can make a million reasons not to go, but you only need one good reason to go sweat to the oldies (or pop music, gangsta rap, dubstep… etc). You’ve set your goals of becoming a burpee/cardio champion and you want it to happen with all your heart. So the next time you hear those little donut filled, slipper wearing, couch-bound voices in your head, I want you to pull up this list, find your excuse, and read it to yourself like a mantra that will save you from early onset marshmallow thighs.

1) I’m too tired. Sleep is my favorite. I love it so much that I sometimes go to sleep and dream about sleeping. You have to prioritize sleep! But it’s 5 pm and you already made your choice last night to watch 3 seasons of Breaking Bad in a row, despite Netflix asking you every few hours “Are you still watching?” (Yes, Netflix. Don’t judge me.) The gym seems like a foreboding way to punish yourself for your bad decisions, but in reality, it is the perfect cure. Part of your sleepy issue is not booty burning (a term I just dubbed)! If you work out, you sleep better. If you work out, you have more energy for the rest of the day. If you work out, you improve your mood. I hate to tell America to do something that’s uncomfortable in the slightest, but just get up and do it. Nutrition can be holding you back, too. Dehydration can cause tiredness as well. So before you make that decision to slip into sweatpants and check out, chug 16 ounces of water and have a banana.

Audra’s Trick: Just get dressed for the gym. That’s all you have to do. Then, after that, just tell yourself you will simply walk/run a single mile. Go from there and see how you feel. At least you will have made an effort and still have gotten the blood flowing and it’s not as daunting as taking on a full work out on little sleep or energy. 

2) I’m too sore. Then work out a different body part. Everything sore? Then go walk on a treadmill. Light exercise works through lactic acid and can help decrease Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness. Drink some water, and get your ass to the gym. Soreness will get easier. Don’t skip your rest days, but no one needs more than 1-2 days off a week. I’m not saying you have to work out 6 days a week, but I’m telling you that you can if you wanted to. If you’re a beginner, shoot for 3-5 days (>3 strength, 2-5 cardio) and go from there. There’s always room to improve, but you won’t see weight loss results if you only work out twice a week.

Audra’s Trick: I’m always sore. Every day. Sometimes you just have to deal with it. Don’t overwork sore muscles. If your legs are sore, go on a walk and work upper body. If your upper body is sore, only work out your lower body. If everything’s sore, you’re doing it right. Good job. Now chug some amino acids and get back on that horse. It’ll get easier. 

3) I can’t afford it/don’t have a gym membership. Do you have running shoes? A bicycle? A garden to tend? A house that needs cleaning? Then you have your gym! Just keep active! Running is free. Push-ups are free. Squats, lunges, jump squats, jump lunges, burpees, pull ups, ab work, side lunges, dancing, planks, stretching, leg lifts, hip bridges, walking your dog, vacuuming, and playing tag with your kids are all free. Do it to it.

Audra’s Trick: My whole personal training company is completely in home. I use equipment for maybe half of the exercises. There’s a ton of exercises available for you on Youtube, and different websites that can help you figure out what to do at home. Plus there’s always Suzanne Summers work out tapes. Yes. I said tapes. Like a true 80’s child. 

4) I don’t know what to do. Grab a friend who does know what they’re doing. Ask a stranger at the gym. I’ve made tons of friends at my gym and it’s a good way to network and meet people! Or hire a trainer (message me for details!). There are plenty of work outs online to check out as well. I used to worry that people were watching me and judging me when I try out a new exercise. Then I realized, no one gives a shit about me or my work out. All the other boys and girls are too busy checking out their booty and biceps in the mirror to notice if you’re screwing up. Who knew that would be a comforting thought?

Audra’s trick: If I need to mix it up, I research creative exercises to get excited about for each trip to the gym. Check out fitness accounts on Instagram for great videos and motivation. 

5) I’m too busy. There’s always someone busier than you, who is working out harder and longer than you and stealing all the gains that you should have gotten for yourself. Wake up earlier. Go to bed earlier. Stop watching TV. Find a gym with a free daycare. Turn girls night out into girl’s fitness night out. I know so many people that come to the gym on their lunch break. Still don’t have time? 15 minutes of jogging, or strength training at home then. I’ve worked 50 hours a week, 6 days a week, teaching classes, and prepped 5 meals a day, all while still finding time to do 2-a-days. You make room in your life for what you really want. You have to prioritize. Make it as important as eating or sleeping, because without exercise, you will die. Just not quite as fast. Lots of bodybuilding competitors make my schedule look easy in comparison, adding kids to the mix, 2nd jobs, and school. If we can do it, so can you.

Audra’s Trick: Schedule it like you would a doctor’s appointment. Put it in you planner with what you plan a week ahead of time. This will cut back on your plans you make around the time you should be getting your grind on. If you schedule it enough, it will become a habit.

6) I’m just not motivated. How badly do you want this? Write down your goals. Write why you want your goals. Remember why you started in the first place.

Audra’s Trick: When I first started competing, I bought a fitness magazine and cut out pictures I liked of fitness models. I put them around my house (concentrating them on the fridge and food pantry) with little sayings on them like, “Oksana knows when you cheat” or “What would Nicole eat?”. Again, Instagram motivational pages can be really great for when I’m social media-ing underneath blankets when I should be sculpting that body. 

7) I don’t like to work out. There are many ways to be fit! Working out doesn’t have to be sweating on a treadmill for 2 hours, listening to Katy Perry on the loud speakers. Take fitness classes. Try cycling. Go on a hike. Bring a friend to the gym with you. Join a community team. Try cult-fit. I mean, crossfit.  If you really want to make the gym thing happen, just stick with it. It’s hard for everyone at first. I had a client who hated our sessions for a good solid year. Then one day, during one of our work outs he said, “Is it weird that I kind of enjoy the burning?” Nope. Welcome to the club. You’ll come around, too. They always do.

Audra’s Trick: I love to work out. But some days, no, I don’t enjoy it. I don’t have a trick. You just do it anyhow. Don’t be a little bitch. You will have good days and bad days. You don’t give up on having hair just because of a bad hair day, right? As much as I’d like to be understanding, sometimes you just have to woman up and push through it. 

8) I’ve already screwed up today. Man, those 4 cupcakes were good. But the post-frosting guilt makes you want to give up altogether. At least for today. You’ll try again tomorrow. NO. Tomorrow never comes. Go burn off as much of those cupcakes as you’ve can while it’s still in your blood stream and muscles before it gets stored away in your jiggly spots and enjoy the great work out (minus the nausea) it should give you. Think of it as carbing up for a race. Your glycogen stores are full and ready to lift big!

Audra’s Trick: Sometimes, to work out like an insane person, you have to be a little insane. So I talk to myself and state “I can do this” (usually moaning through my belly aches) and put on my work out clothes. Don’t let being mad at yourself keep you from succeeding.

9) I’ll start Monday. After I get my doctor’s approval. After I get my gym membership. After I party this weekend. On Monday, you’ll always wish you had started sooner. Every little bit counts. If all you can do today is walk a mile, then walk a mile. Being too out of shape is a bad reason to not get into shape.

Audra’s Trick: Nothing in my life gets done unless I do it right this second. What are you doing right now? I’m guessing you’re on your phone or computer. Get up this second and go do your walk/run/lift/zumba/whatever. Thanks for reading this first though.

YOU CAN DO IT!

Message me if you’re interested in a little extra motivation. I provide online coaching and motivation that includes a diet plan and work out routine (if needed), all based on your schedule, capabilities, and resources.

About audralamontagne

Nationally Qualified NPC Bikini Competitor Personal trainer Professional smart ass Follow me on twitter: @Audrala
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

